Vacation Jitters!

Since I’m heading back to North Carolina to visit Josh in ohhhh tomorrow (!!!), maybe it’s a good time to finally post pictures from my last two visits in August and November? Oui? Oui!

Thanks to overtime during the office move last summer I had a sweet amount of lieu time to use as I saw fit, and I see very fit indeed to spend as much time as I possible with Josh. Obviously! So I scheduled two vacations close together which had the bonus of making the time between them seem nigh insignificant, but the disadvantage of making the time between a November and April visit seem to take forever.

And yet here we are! And here you go:  

(And if the formatting is all wonky, screw it. WordPress is misbehaving and I’ve no time to mess around with it!)

August
 
   

This is American for 'cheese'; the edibility of heavily processed foods being a constant point of debate between Josh and I.

Josh was very pleased when we returned to the hotel one evening to find his skull-betopped scooter bookended by a pair of badass Harleys.

A small island of Canada in a vast sea of on-sale Americana.

Something's wrong when your bestseller list includes disproportionate amounts of Glenn Beck, Nancy Grace, and Dick Armey. Oh and lets not forget the Ann Coulter. Oy vey.

Late night date night at the Wal-Mart extravaganza!

 

November

 
 
 
 

 

 

Gettin' all casual in the kitchen, by which I mean he didn't realize the camera was on secret timer 😉

 

Baking a brie! With caramelized worcestershire and red wine onions cooked right into the phyllo!

 
 

Now that's what cheese should look like!! The brie didn't make it two feet from the oven before being devoured within five minutes right at the counter. Words cannot describe the delicious.

 

Trip to the most psychedelic pizza joint ever!

Psychedlic menu! Just give pizza a try, man! Why can't all toppings just get along? 😛

 

Gettin' all domestic with the washing up.

 

Gettin' more domestic! 😉

 

 

Only one more sleep until more of these!!

7 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    April 23, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Nice photos–the brie looks delicious, and Josh is obviously a lucky man! And the American food thing–I agree with you, I can’t even eat frozen dinners because they’ve got so much junk in them! I’ve never lived outside the U.S., but a friend of mine attended college for many years in Istanbul. He said when he returned home he was sick for weeks because of the junk in the American food (in Turkey, he explained, they make everything fresh, and after three days discard it–they don’t use preservatives and such)!

    • Emerald said,

      May 6, 2011 at 2:55 pm

      Thanks! 😛 We totally made another brie this time. And I can do total crap junk food once in a while, say when I’m on vacation. But not every day! Every time, about a week into my visit I start craving veggies because my body just starts freaking out from all the crap.

  2. theduffboy said,

    May 16, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Looks like you had a “domestic blast” 😉 Ah, the cheese… I’m now vegan, so eating out is not fun for Duffgirl and I anymore. Hugs!

  3. June 1, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Howdy Em,

    Sorry I haven’t been around in forever. I’ve been busy, busy, busy. Working on making time for my own blog right now.

    If you have time, perhaps you could stop by for a quick 10 question survey that only takes a few minutes, is fun/painless, the deadline is 06/04/2011 and will help me with a future post I’m working on; please and thank you. 😉

    Are those veggie crumbles I spy? Those things are awesome in lasagna and tacos. 😛 You two are just too cute. Ha, Josh caught with his hand in the nooky jar. :mrgreen: Sneaky, Em, sneaky. Yeah, like know the pic was being taken would have stopped him. 😉 Looking forward to the next update.

  4. Emerald said,

    June 6, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    @ Duffboy: Oh man, I’m going mostly vegan too – baby steps, but the overall goal is better health because there is some scary accurate science out there on the benefits of eating mostly plants. So while I might still have some once in a while, I will definitely miss my cheese binges! 😛

    @ PeterParkour: No prob, as you can tell I’m hardly around ever too!! Especially for bloggy things now that so many peeps are on my FB. I did see that message about your questionnaire, I’ll try to get to that today! And yes, those are veggie crumbles 😛 More updates soon!

  5. Will said,

    August 31, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    I’m a NC resident now.

  6. Curious said,

    May 10, 2015 at 4:07 am

    I’m guessing with the abrupt ending of all three blogs this didn’t turn out to be a fairytale.


Leave a comment